A Welcome from Club President:
Welcome to “The Garden Club of Austin” website. We would love to have you join our club or visit our monthly club meetings, which feature refreshments, a speaker on gardening topics, and news and dates about our upcoming events. These meetings are always very interesting and informative. Our club awards scholarships to students planning a career in horticulture.

In the spring every year, our club presents a flower and vegetable show and sale at the Zilker Botanical Gardens. We support the Austin Area Garden Council (AAGC), the annual Zilker Garden Festival, the Southwest Region of The Gardeners of America, and our national parent organization, The Men’s Garden Club of America (TGOA-MGCA).

Our club, formerly The Men’s Garden Club of Austin, has been in existence since 1953, and is one of the oldest garden clubs in Austin.

You will find our club members very interesting, experts in many areas of gardening, and very willing to share their knowledge and expertise with anyone wanting to gain information. Our club meetings, special seminars, and discussions with our members who have specialized knowledge about growing and exhibiting certain plants, will certainly benefit and enhance your gardening experience.

The club meets at 7 p.m. at the Zilker Botanical Gardens auditorium, on the fourth Thursday of each month except November (the third Thursday), and December, when we have our annual banquet and awards program.

I am looking forward to sharing gardening experience and knowledge with you in the future.

Wilburn F. Hackebeil
2008-11 President
The Garden Club of Austin

Club Officers:
President:  Wilburn Hackebeil

1st Vice President:  Laura Joseph and Steve Reynolds

2nd Vice President:  John and Joyce Fox

3rd Vice President:  Johanna Dickhut and Adam Preble

Secretary:  Liz Stansfeld

Treasurer:  Annie Hackebeil

Historian:  Carol Kay Johnson

Newsletter Editor:  Norman Wagner and Sandra Schmidt

AAGC Representative:  Wilburn Hackebeil

Directors (Term extending through 2011):  Lauren Eischen and Rainee Freeman

Directors (Term extending through 2012):  Billie Passmore and Irene Franco

Directors (Term extending through 2013):  Joe Defoe and Christie Rodgers